Theater Guest Artists & Scholars

The Michael Douglas Foundation Visiting Artist Program

A private gift from Michael Douglas through The Douglas Charitable Foundation which began in 1993 established the Michael Douglas Foundation Visiting Artists Fund for the Department of Theater and Dance. The annual income from this fund is used to bring guest artists to educate students in the Department of Theater and Dance and other departments as appropriate.

Past Michael Douglas Visiting Artists have included:

  • 2018 - Sarah Jones
  • 2016 - Kathleen Turner
  • 2013 - Bill T. Jones
  • 2009 - Bill Irwin
  • 2008 - Barbara Lebow
  • 2006 - Marina Carr
  • 2005 - Sarah Ruhl
  • 2005 - David Edgar
  • 2004 - Tony Kushner
  • 2003 - Steven Berkoff
  • 1999 - Paula Vogel
  • 1996 - Anna Deavere Smith

Other Guests/Scholars

The Department of Theater and Dance hosts a number of other short term residencies and visits which play a vital role in providing a unique opportunity for our undergraduate and graduate students and faculty both in and outside the classroom.

  • Jorge Huerta (leading figure in Chicano/a Theater)
  • Tim Miller (Queer Performer)
  • Stephen Schwartz (Composer, "Wicked", "Godspell", and "Pippin")
  • Louis Alfaro (playwright/solo artist)
  • Florie Bunzel/Kemper (costume designer)
  • Garvin Eddy (production designer)
  • Michael Keck (composer)
  • Will McCandless (sound designer/engineer, San Francisco Mime Troupe)
  • Adriana Sevan (playwright)
  • Luis Alfaro (playwright/solo artist)
  • Hayden Adams (actor)
  • Ian Belton (playwright)
  • Joachim Fiebach (Theatre Studies at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
  • Oliver Mayer (playwright and USC Theater School professor)
  • Julie Marie Myatt (playwright)
  • Michael Richie (Artistic Director, Center Theatre Group)
  • John Walch (sound designer)
  • Matt Wilder (playwright)
  • Luis Alfaro (playwright)
  • Libby Appel (artistic director Oregon Shakespeare Theatre)
  • Joanna Carden (speech pathologist, Cedar Sinai)
  • Juliette Carrillo (ensemble member with Cornerstone Theater Company)
  • Brad Carroll (sound designer/composer)
  • Sue Ellen Case (Professor and Chair of Critical Studies, Department of Theater, UCLA)
  • Julia Cho (playwright)
  • Bart DeLorenzo (playwright)
  • Michael Garces (playwright)
  • Sonja Kuftinec (theater scholar, University of Minnesota)
  • Jonathan Moscone
  • Rebecca Novick (playwright)
  • Stephan Novinski
  • Chan E. Park (Ohio State University)
  • Marko Peljhan (theater scholar)
  • Heather Rasche (actor)
  • Nic Rideout (UCSD)
  • Haiping Yan (Professor of Theater, UCLA)
  • John Walch (playwright)
  • Penny Penninston (playwright)